Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-01-2011, 10:13 AM
GTOGreg's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1599
GTOGreg has a spectacular aura about
Question Disabling remote start

First things first, I've searched and I've already read through the manual. With that out of the way...

I would like to disable the remote start feature as I have horriffic thoughts of having the key in my pocket and accidentally double-clicking the key (as I've done on the trunk many times with my challenger - same key type). 15 minutes of run time is a loooong time in a closed garage. Not worth the risk IMO.

I tried unchecking Remote Start in EVIC but the car still starts up? How do I disable?
__________________

__________________
-------
2011 Hemi WK2 Blk/Blk
Offroad I, Mopar Rock Rails, Mopar roof racks, Tow, Nav, Lockpick v.2, Sharkfin, Thule 1800XT cargo box, RRO front leveling kit, Firestone Destination ATs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2011, 11:06 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 226
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1612
Nouveau Redneck is on a distinguished road
Re: Disabling remote start

The only selections in the EVIC Setup that are related to remote start are "Remote Start Comfort" and "Horn With Remote Start".

From looking at the owner's manual, there is no way that I can see to permanently disable the remote start. You can disable it every time you stop the vehicle by pressing and holding the the panic button on the remote for one second to sound the panic alarm and then pressing the panic button again to turn it off. The remote start will not work again until after the car is started normally. You can also remote start and stop the vehicle twice, and and then it will be disabled until the next time that you start the vehicle normally.
__________________

__________________
Sean in PA
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
Stone White
5.7 Liter Hemi V-8
Adaptive Cruise & Blind Spot Monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2011, 11:22 AM
xj31's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1580
xj31 has a reputation beyond reputexj31 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Disabling remote start

I haven't tried this but the hood switch is built into the latch.I would try unplugging it and see what happens.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2011, 06:18 PM
GTOGreg's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1599
GTOGreg has a spectacular aura about
Re: Disabling remote start

Wow, surprised they wouldn't make it a user-configurable option...that's asking for trouble. I'm not one to preach safety to others, and I believe in as little government interference as possible as it relates to matters such as these. But that said, you watch, people will die because of this feature (it's also offered on many other models other than Jeep). It's absolutely an accident waiting to happen. I'm going to continue to look for a way to disable it to protect my family.
__________________
-------
2011 Hemi WK2 Blk/Blk
Offroad I, Mopar Rock Rails, Mopar roof racks, Tow, Nav, Lockpick v.2, Sharkfin, Thule 1800XT cargo box, RRO front leveling kit, Firestone Destination ATs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2011, 06:25 PM
Dan JGC's Avatar
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,102
Thanks: 6
Thanked 79 Times in 65 Posts
Rep Power: 4536
Dan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond reputeDan JGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Disabling remote start

Can't you just modify the remote??? I don't have my Jeep yet but if it is a separate button, just open the remote up and take out the contact for that button....
__________________
||||||| 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit 4x4 V8 in Bright White Clear Coat exterior with Grand Canyon Jeep Brown interior. |||||||
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2011, 06:34 PM
GTOGreg's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1599
GTOGreg has a spectacular aura about
Re: Disabling remote start

Good idea Dan...seems very possible.

There's also a way to put the Dodge Ram truck into service mode. I will see if you can do the same with the JGC. When the truck is in run mode you press the remote start button three times. My wife has the Jeep at work right now so will have to look into it later.

I see that there's a separate phone hotline to call about Mopar remote start (and some other features), so maybe I will check that out as well. In case anyone else is interested, the number is 800-34MOPAR. Will post whatever I do to disable the feature.
__________________
-------
2011 Hemi WK2 Blk/Blk
Offroad I, Mopar Rock Rails, Mopar roof racks, Tow, Nav, Lockpick v.2, Sharkfin, Thule 1800XT cargo box, RRO front leveling kit, Firestone Destination ATs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2011, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1431
NeoStrom is on a distinguished road
Re: Disabling remote start

If you pop the hood when you get out, it won't remote start...at least from what I've read. Haven't ordered mine yet so I can't test this out myself.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2011, 09:02 PM
Knightrider03m's Avatar
Everyday I'm shuffling
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In the mud now
Posts: 6,128
Thanks: 13
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 323445
Knightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond reputeKnightrider03m has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Knightrider03m
Re: Disabling remote start

Is there a fuse for it?
__________________
-Marcus-
2012 Ford Escape XLT 3.0L V6 AWD White Suede
Current mods: 6000K HID low/hi beams; Passport 9500ix; Garmin NUVI50 5% Tint; Tinted Tails; Duel Exhaust; Debadge
Future mods: Lowing kit; Engine Tune; Black wheels; Monotone Paint Job
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2011, 09:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1431
NeoStrom is on a distinguished road
Re: Disabling remote start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightrider03m View Post
Is there a fuse for it?
I thought of that too, but the fuse map I found online does not indicate there is a dedicated fuse for Remote Start.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2011, 09:50 PM
Technosavant's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: STL, MO area
Posts: 1,292
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 2967
Technosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Disabling remote start

No offense, but I think we may be trying to help with the wrong thing.

Has anybody ever managed to successfully start the vehicle by nothing more than pure accident? I just don't see how that could happen. Even if CO levels in the garage got fairly high, opening the door would vent it all; you don't take one whiff and pass out dead; it does take some time for the gas buildup in your blood to cause any concern.

Personally, I'd set the "horn on remote start" to on so if you ever do manage to hit it in just the right way twice, you will hear an audible reminder to go shut it off. But I doubt that will ever happen.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-01-2011, 09:58 PM
GTOGreg's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1599
GTOGreg has a spectacular aura about
Re: Disabling remote start

No offense taken at all. Just good forum discussion.

In a detached garage it would be of no concern at all. However in my attached garage with the HVAC on in summer or winter we'd probably all be dead or very sick with the CO being pulled through. Like I said, 15 minutes is a long time.

If I hadn't opened the trunk on my challenger by having it in my pants pockets like 10 times I guess I wouldn;t be so paranoid. So sure, take it out and leave it on the counter... but then the kids get it, or I'm absent-minded and leave it in my pocket, it's in my wife purse as it is now, etc... . It's just too risky...and for what? The garage here in NorCal is always a reasonable temp and we wouldn't need to pre-start the car anyway. It's useless unless we go to Tahoe, where it would be nice to start the car outside of the cabin.

BTW...great suggestion on leaving the horn audible on. That's at least some safety measure.
__________________
-------
2011 Hemi WK2 Blk/Blk
Offroad I, Mopar Rock Rails, Mopar roof racks, Tow, Nav, Lockpick v.2, Sharkfin, Thule 1800XT cargo box, RRO front leveling kit, Firestone Destination ATs
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-01-2011, 10:41 PM
BadLuck's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1593
BadLuck is on a distinguished road
Re: Disabling remote start

In the challenger you just hit the trunk release button once, right? I think thats why they made the remote start two hits to start it. It would be hard to hit it two consecutive times on accident in your pocket. The kids getting ahold of the key and doing it is a different story.

I think remote modification would be the way to go. If there is a fuse I would think it would handle everything on the remote.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody have remote start on 06 WK? jeepdizzle Grand Cherokee - WK 61 03-28-2014 11:09 PM
Remote Start jrb1 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 35 02-24-2011 10:31 PM
Remote Start whatevrworks Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 12 09-12-2010 10:49 AM
Jeep remote start mangoe Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 11 07-25-2010 12:32 PM
Remote Start Bslagle05 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 7 01-12-2010 11:01 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.