Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Modifications & Enhancements > Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-16-2012, 02:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 830
airmail96 is on a distinguished road
Adding and Aux Input and Aux Output

So I had a question I was looking at Matts write up about how to add a sub and amp to the factory stereo. That is an awesome write up but leaves me with a question. I am also wanting to add an aux input, the aux input I am looking at looks like it plugs in the same way as the aux output could I possible patch both in. Both come with a cable you plug in between the factory harness.

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_541CHYX...r.html?tp=1672

thats that aux input adapter i want to use

and I was looking to use the

http://www.google.com/products/catal...ed=0CCgQ8wIwAQ

PAC C2A-CHY3 for the rca outputs.

I guess what i was thinking is put both of the patch cables together? I think it is either that or splice one into the other which would probably be time consuming, but easy.

Not sure if this helps but this would be going in an 07 Grand Cherokee with the boston Acoustic stereo.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2012, 12:55 PM
08Hemi's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 4,292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 330265
08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding and Aux Input and Aux Output

http://jeepgarage.org/showthread.php?t=2075

There is my stereo install thread in case that helps at all...Matt helped me a lot with mine.

I have been trying to get a similar answer for over a year...I want to run a lock pick with the PAC adapter I installed for my RCA outs. Nobody seems to know...iirc the lockpick has both an input and output, so that would be the way I would go in your situation (do you have a nav unit?). I just didn't want to lose the fade capability (the PAC adapter allows you to have the F/R fade enabled, which is great for my sub and when I have my dog in the car) and ultimately i want to put a 4 ch amp in and replace the stock BA system. Hope that helps
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2012, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 984
Spanky Malone is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding and Aux Input and Aux Output

I'm also interested in this.... just installed the CHR550 to a RER in my '08 Overland.

Plan to add two pairs of JL components powered by a JL 300/4, along with a Stealthbox powered by a JL 600/1.

I don't want to lose any of the RER or LockPick functionality, and want to be able to turn down the sub only, when my pup's in the back.

Suggestions?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2012, 06:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 830
airmail96 is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding and Aux Input and Aux Output

Quote:
Originally Posted by 08Hemi View Post
http://jeepgarage.org/showthread.php?t=2075

There is my stereo install thread in case that helps at all...Matt helped me a lot with mine.

I have been trying to get a similar answer for over a year...I want to run a lock pick with the PAC adapter I installed for my RCA outs. Nobody seems to know...iirc the lockpick has both an input and output, so that would be the way I would go in your situation (do you have a nav unit?). I just didn't want to lose the fade capability (the PAC adapter allows you to have the F/R fade enabled, which is great for my sub and when I have my dog in the car) and ultimately i want to put a 4 ch amp in and replace the stock BA system. Hope that helps
Yeah I have the nav unit, I actually read through your whole install, actually was looking into the speaker you went with also, but I was thinking about 2 12's instead of 1. What exactly is the Lockpick? I know I was looking around on crutchfield and the didn't seem to offer to much in ways of outputs other then the output converters. The PAC that you went with to give you your RCA outputs has the same connectors as the one I had to give me my input. I may just purchase it and see what happens don't have the rest of my stereo at the moment though. Just looked at the lockpick, it looks nice but way more then what I need, the girl would like it though because she could plug in her IPOD lol.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAQ Aux Input through CD Changer? Schmidty Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 0 10-10-2011 03:17 PM
Adding AUX port?? SickWhip Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 18 12-17-2010 03:58 PM
Aux input ????? glassgarden99 Grand Cherokee - WK 1 11-16-2010 11:55 PM
Stock Radio Aux Input JeepMe Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 10-07-2010 01:09 PM
is there an aux input on stock 05 6-disk radio? BillaWha? Grand Cherokee - WK 14 07-08-2010 08:06 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community